Peanut Butter Terrorism

What are we up to– 400 plus products recalled because one greedy business owner looked the other way.

We hear a lot about how the government needs to stay out of the business of doing business. Well this is a perfect example of exactly why government interference is needed in the private sector. People are sick, others are dead – because one company chose to ignore the possibility of salmonella contamination.

What about the ripple effect to the customers of Peanut Corporation of America? And the peanut industry as a whole?

Peanut butter was a big staple in my diet.

Peanut butter on a toasted whole wheat bagel for breakfast.

Peanut butter crackers as a mid-morning snack or on a hike.

Peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch or an occasionally dinner.

Peanut butter cups – both on their  own and the mini ones in ice cream.

I bet this stupid company flew the American flag on the holidays, (they added “America” to their name), gave lip service to how much they cared about their employees (I assume they are now out of work) and talked about how wonderful they were as a contributor to the economy, the community, blah, blah, blah.

Keep this in mind. All terrorist don’t look alike. They can high-jack a whole industry when they exhibit greed in favor of a true “corporate conscious.”

7 Responses to “Peanut Butter Terrorism”

  1. Theresa

    Wow, having a bad day? I had just purchased some Zone Perfect bars and called the company and they very graciously are sending me a check to replace the box I just purchased. I guess because peanut butter isn’t a staple in my diet I don’t get that excited about it. Yes, it’s sad when company’s look the other way and people get hurt, but is there, seriously, an answer to the problem (government oversight???/how could they help EVERY sector of food produced – isn’t that what the FDA is for). Maybe organic peanut butter is the answer for you.

  2. intuitivelyobvious

    I don’t trust the “organic” label as a promise that a product will be organic.

  3. Sandy

    I to LOVE peanut butter! Do not screw with my Jif! Just had a nice sandwich myself w/soup for dinner. My husband took those now-deadly Austin peanut butter crackers for a snack..in his daily lunch! I would hate to think I could have been a widow because of my shopping habits. Peanut butter IS a big deal whether you eat it occassionally or a lot. It is in a lot of things you may not even think about…

    Last time I checked, Theresa, the FDA is the government!! FEDERAL (F). US Food & Drug Administration!

    sandy
    sandy

  4. Theresa

    Wow Sandy, no reason to attack me because I don’t eat peanut butter. Peanut butter is NOT that big of a deal to me and I have confidence in the FDA; that and I don’t buy a lot of pre-packaged foods for my household.

  5. intuitivelyobvious

    I don’t think Sandy was attacking you.

    To some of us – peanut butter is like chocolate — only healthier, and we love it. It’s easier to grab a packaged of peanut butter crackers than to make your own to take on a hike, etc.

  6. Theresa

    It was very nice to receive such a response from you (intuitivelyobvious). I guess you’re right, but my heart doctor suggested I stop eating these types of foods, so, for my health and longevity, I have decided to stop with these types of foods. To each their own and I’m out and done with the blog. To you, have a healthy life.

  7. intuitivelyobvious

    I didn’t realize peanut butter would be such a touchy subject.

Leave a Reply

