Holiday Treats at the Nursing Home

Mom’s nursing home held a little holiday party for the residents and their families yesterday. They served egg nog, which was a real treat as Mom and I always shared a carton at Christmas time. I think we are the only ones in the family who liked it. We each drank two cups.

The activities “guy” arrived in a Santa suit, and of course he knew every resident’s name as he greeted each one and posed for a quick picture. I didn’t know how much they would get out of  a visit from Santa, but anything that breaks up the day is a good thing.

Santa had on a very good-looking red suit – one our table mates commented that it was a very nice, rich looking material.  Some of the Santa suits you see are kind of cheesey and cheap looking. I noted that St. Nick looked pretty good as he was more trim than some I had seen in the past and that this was  more in keeping with our health conscious times.

As Santa approached mom, who is now confined to a wheelchair — to my surprise not only did she have a big smile on her face  – but she was stretching out her arms and reaching for a hug!  I think my mouth dropped open and I held back some tears as I watched her respond with such joy to something as simple and timeless as a visit from Santa Claus. She was the only one I saw respond with such obvious outward excitement.

After Santa gave Mom her hug and posed for a picture, her turned to the next lady, “Virginia!”

As Santa and Virginia smiled for the camera, I announced to the room, “Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus.”

Several people laughed and I think just about everyone in the room was smiling. It was a good day.

3 Responses to “Holiday Treats at the Nursing Home”

  1. anthonydesoza

    hi,

    It’s good idea. In holiday treat we can get the nursing home.It is very good. i am very happy.

  2. Theresa

    Patty, I’m so happy that you got to see (and will forever keep that memory) of your mother. Sounds like she had fun (and you). You painted a beautiful moment with words. Happy Holidays

  3. rozerjazzusa

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

Leave a Reply

