Can We Be Too Healthy For Our Own Good?

Once in a while I’ll watch a TV show or read something in the paper where I don’t understand fully the technical explanation, but I do get what the bottom line message is.

Recently I read a blog entry pointing to flu shots as a contributing factor to the causes of Alzheimer’s, dementia and other diseases.

In the past, I was doubtful that vaccines could cause autism, although many parents believe so. A recent court ruling indicates that there may be some convincing scientific support for this argument.

A friend of mine, a 30 year veteran of an elementary school, says something is wrong. From her teacher’s seat, she’s seen an amazing rise in the number of kids with autism. She doesn’t have any statistics outlined on a spreadsheet….just a practical, first-hand, close-up look at change over time.

Since the followers of Christian Science don’t go to doctors…are they as affected by these health issues? What are the rates of autism and dementia among their followers as compared to those being vaccinated?

When I was a kid, I carried one of those original metal Flintstones lunch boxes with a peanut butter sandwich inside. Our biggest food fear at the time was mayonnaise on a warm day. A PBJ sandwich was our insurance against food borne illness. Today, some schools are banning peanuts and peanut butter in the classroom to protect kids who are highly allergic to this legume. What has caused this change?

I don’t have all of the answers, but I do know this. The world is not flat and Pluto is no longer a planet. Science changes over time.

Yesterday as I struggled in Wal-Mart’s dressing room, trying to get Mom to cooperate/understand how to move so we could evaluate the fit of a new pair of pants….I asked myself, should Mom start skipping flu shots?

3 Responses to “Can We Be Too Healthy For Our Own Good?”

  1. The Domestic Goddess

    I’ve been lurking for a while and I have to tell you I like how you think. I skip flu shots, but I lie when people ask me if I’ve gotten mine. Why? Well, Mark me down for one of those people who does NOT believe vaccines cause my children’s autism, but I’m not getting any extra shots just in case. And also, because I believe that since not everyone gets the shots, there is no way to completely eradicate these diseases. And, because we’ve been vaccinating against diseases that are more of a nuisance than deadly, now we’ve created superbugs. Lucky us! Chicken Pox is now a vaccine. Measles are a vaccine. Hepatitis. Whooping Cough. Some of these really suck. No one really wants polio. But we’re creating more dreadful diseases. Bodies need a way to NATURALLY build up a viral load. But our food sources make us sick, too. What to do, what to do…
    Sorry, I’ll get off of my soapbox now! But just FYI: They did NOT admit that vaccines cause autism. All they admitted was that the child in question had an underlying metabolic disease which the vaccines could have exacerbated, causing autistic like symptoms. From what I’ve read, the child in question does not even have a fully-qualified diagnosis and the experts agree that even if she didn’t have the vaccines, she’d still have the metabolic disease so she’d still have symptoms.

  2. intuitivelyobvious

    You are right..they didn’t “admit” vaccines cause autism…but in some peoples minds, it will be the equivalent of “proof.”

    Thanks for your comments!

  3. GibGrl

    Man, I gotta put my 2 cents in. I’d have to say that normally I would say “get your vaccines”. I still believe in that for adult flu shots, maybe even MMR for kids not known to have an allergy. I’ve discovered what could be a food intolerance for me and in the process I’ve learned about autistic spectrum kids. When the US increased vaccines(some on day 1) the autism rate went from 1 in 10,000 to 1:150. It is suggested that the vaccines overstimulate the immune system causing it to go haywire thus we have lots of allergies and kids that get whacked over wheat, dairy, red dye whatever. Not to mention that we put tons a crud in our food these days. I personally believe in better living through chemistry but we can’t mess with the food supply. While we’re at it we shouldn’t invoke widespread “programs” without smaller scale study. Seems like this problem could have been noted before hand unless of course the vaccine people ran the study.

Leave a Reply

