Encounter With A Doctor

My mom had an “encounter” with her ophthalmologist. At least that’s what the bills says.

 I’m assuming this medical practice bought some off-the-shelf software that didn’t allow for an office visit. Or is this a new medical term that meets the needs of the insurance company?

 Or maybe it really was an “encounter.” It just struck me as an odd way of stating things on the bill.

4 Responses to “Encounter With A Doctor”

  1. Allison

    I hope it’s not a new insurance term. I don’t want to have an “encounter” with my doctor. Nor with my dentist for that matter.

  2. Theresa

    Maybe the insurance company can charge more for an “encounter” as opposed to an “office visit”. I’m going to check my EOB/bills when they come in. In my whole life I have never had to pay for an “encounter” (except with regret in the morning).

    Take care

    TMS

  3. markgorman

    Was he an alien Ophthalmist? A close one? Is she close to him? Watch out for mountains springing up in your back garden.

  4. intuitivelyobvious

    I’ll keep an eye out on the backyard. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

