Not For Prime Time TV

Posted On February 25, 2008

Filed under Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Comments Dropped leave a response

I’ve been home watching daytime TV lately. I’ve noticed that daytime television commercials are kind of depressing compared to those aired during the prime time evening hours.Marketers must think that everybody home during the day falls into one or more of these categories:

  • Uneducated/untrained (unemployable) – time to get some vocational training
  • Seriously injured from work or an accident, or from bad medicines – needs a lawyer
  • Unhealthy/retired and in need of assistance to pay for medical bills and/or to buy a scooter to get around
  • Have no credit, work at night at a minimum wage job – needs to buy a junker car from a place that offers easy credit (and overly high interest rates)

I’m watching Oprah now, and these commercials are looking up a bit. I guess the employed, healthy folks are starting to come home now.

I’ve noticed when I fall asleep on the couch and wake up in the middle of the night….there are opportunities to call a phone number and connect with some hottie, buy into a “get-rich” program, or attend truck driving school (same as one of the daytime choices).

The Boob Tube. I don’t think TVs have tubes anymore. But they have boobs…women flaunting their breasts, and people airing their personal problems.

Maybe I should get cable. Maybe the daytime commercials would be more inspiring. I could always listen to music. But then I’d fall behind on my law degree. And my psychology minor. You see, I’m watching a lot of court TV programs. Where real people make fools of themselves to save a little money on their divorces or lawsuits. And they get their 15 minutes of fame.

I don’t watch soap operas. I see enough daytime drama. Real life is dramatic enough for me.

Leave a Reply

